A Beginning in the End pt. 22

Logan                                                                                                                  2020/1/16

There is another human being downstairs. It is the one thing that I have not dared to hope for. I did not even think it was possible that even if there was another survivor that I could find them in this giant world. The chances were so low that I had not dared to hope that I would ever find someone.

Her name is Arabella and I must say I am impressed. She does not look like much at first but she has survived this long which speaks volumes about the kind of person she is. She is beat up from years of hard living but she is still quite beautiful. She must be resourceful and talented as well to have lived this long.

I cannot remember the last time I felt so peacefully content as I do right now. I actually feel a bit of happiness. Just to hear another voice is such an amazing thing that I am nearly in a state of shock.

And yet despite how God has decided to bless me today I am on edge about this place after the story that Arabella told me today. Something is missing from the story and it makes me slightly nervous. I am determined not to worry about it tonight. I’m going to take this night to rest and have a bit more peace before I work to solve this mystery.

I am simply happy to have another human being in near proximity once more. I do not know if it will last but I am going to rest in it while I can. I do not have to talk to the air for a short time and that is all I could ask for. I am not alone.

2020/1/17

Arabella made breakfast this morning. I woke up to food spread out on a kitchen table and a cheerful, albeit slightly nervous, face there to greet me. I can not help but feel that I do not deserve this little bit of happiness in my life, not after what I have done.

“Good morning,” I managed to greet the girl. I spoke first again as I had yesterday. Arabella seemed a bit uncertain and wary still and I do not blame her in the least.

“Good morning,” she returned in a guarded voice. It is oddly satisfying in my opinion that she does not seem to completely trust me yet. She would be an idiot to do so. And yet, by the end of breakfast we were chatting amiably as though we were old friends.

We seem to automatically trust each other on some level. I believe it is because we would not want to do anything else. As possibly the only to humans left alive we both assume that the other is not going to pull any underhanded tricks. Neither of us wants to be alone, that certain, and we both know it.

I have taken quite a liking to this girl. I have just met her and already I trust her with my whole soul. I can tell that she is kind, gentle, and as innocent as one can be in this world. I want to get to know her and providing that we both survive I feel sure that I will.

I feel a strange desire to tell her all about myself but first I will look into that troublesome town barricade. Something is odd here and I am determined to find out what it is. I sense that is is important though I cannot as yet say why .

 

Dymphna.

 

Leave a Reply

